Return to Gymnasium Sabre V3
:
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Mediocre handle, stiff, permanent bend. January 27, 2022
Reviewer: Matthew from Oakton  
The seam where the leather is stitched together on the grip is a fairly uncomfortable hot spot, and the pommel cap is misaligned with the grip so that it sticks out into my hand. The latter issue isn't a big deal, and the former issue is somewhat fixable by removing the pommel cap entirely, but both are to be noted. The hilt is glued to the tang, so keep this in mind before trying modification. The biggest issue regarding the hilt is it's design, the grip favors light gloves like PBT Lights, but the guard favors medium gloves like Red Dragons.
In addition, it's a VERY stiff weapon, flexing at 38 lbs rather than the advertised 20 lbs. The one I have appears to be a new variation/revision, which is unfullered.
On the other hand, it handling is as expected more or less, with weight and balance being exactly as listed: 830g and 4 inch POB for this revision. Minimal edge damage on account of the overly thick blade, but it took a permanent bend on just it's first day of sparring.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 September 14, 2021
Reviewer: Derek Lindros from Annapolis, CA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 September 14, 2021
Reviewer: from ,  
Quality as advertised…..sabre is solid and should withstand plenty of abuse…..

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Good Products April 20, 2021
Reviewer: Robby Peters from Summerfield, NC United States  
Fast service, good quality training swords.  Purpleheart Armoury will likely be my main source for HEMA equipment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 March 31, 2021
Reviewer: Christopher Smith from Janesville, WI United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Great product March 19, 2021
Reviewer: George Tau  
Took it out for practice and it worked great!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 $250!!!!??? Seriously? March 12, 2021
Reviewer: Harold Parlee from Edmonton, AB Canada  
Nothing short of amazing. Worth twice the price. Bought three, contemplating more.
Fit and finish is lovely, the come alive in the hand.
Did I mention that Purple Heart had it to Canada in less than a week?
Once again, your service level is...NOT common. Muchos kudos.
Side note: The VB feder I bought five years ago is still going strong. At least one more expensive sword of the same vintage and use levels has broken on it.
Thanks PH, respect.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Very Nice Sabre September 29, 2020
Reviewer: Sharkey of D.W.A.R.F. from Everett, ON Canada  
Balance is good and has a study construction. After 2 hours of hard sparring nothing loosened up. I didnt notice any difference in the slighty shorter blade that other sabres I've used.
I would and will recommend this sabre to my club mates.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 July 9, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Amazing January 1, 2020
Reviewer: Sabre user  
I love this sword. I've fought with it against long swords and felt safe and comfortable with my blade.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items