Return to Tournament Shortsword, Oakshott Type 16, Pear
:
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Overall good product September 18, 2022
Reviewer: Anthony from Greeneville TN  
Shipping was fast, had the product with in a few days.
Sword is a bit forward heavy which leads it to having a great presents in the bind. Sword blade, leather grip and pommel are great quality but, sadly the cross guard leaves a lot to be desired. My only gripe is the cross guard, the fit to the blade was a little sloppy and left a lot of wiggle room which I had fixed with some leather shims. After some light sparring the blade held up nicely, no nicks of visible damage. All in all solid product for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 June 30, 2022
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Torrance, CA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Good feel in the hand October 13, 2021
Reviewer: Sean Glover from Florissant, CO United States  
The blade held up well to sparring, it felt good and lively in the hand, and the green wrap for the hilt looked lovely!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Jake June 5, 2021
Reviewer: Jake from , Utah  
Well balanced and is easy to manuever.  Solid build.  Like how this version has a nut holding the handle together so it can be tightened if the cross guard loosens.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Love it. May 13, 2021
Reviewer: Joel from Riverton, UT United States  
Excellent feel when wielding it.  Great balance.  Solid craftsmanship.  Update, after a year of heavy sparing the cross guard has slight movement.  I have sparred against messer and dusack blades and I did get a few dings on the edge of the blade but no significant damage.  This blade moves quickly and is very durable.  I bought one for my son it has been such a great sword.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Tournament Shortsword, Oakshott Type XVI, Pear February 9, 2021
Reviewer: TJ S from Point of Rocks, MD United States  
Seems pretty solid, removable pommel, slight movement in the handle but nothing major. General Quality is on point for use at a good price point would buy again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Nice one hander October 5, 2020
Reviewer: Shannon H. from Minnesota  
This is my first sparring sword, and I like it a lot. The balance is about four inches from the hilt, and it handles easily. The handle is ample sized for big protective gloves. My daughter thinks it’s more of a hand and a half because she’s smaller. Glad I bought this over synthetic.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Tournament Shortsword, Oakshott Type XVI, Peened August 30, 2020
Reviewer: Steven from Tampa, FL  
I bought this sword for sword and shield practice in my local HEMA group. It is a little stiff but still safe for thrust, doesn't hit too hard when cutting. Handle is wood over leather and the wood core is recessed for the seam which is a strange design decision but it works. The blade is the same style as their technique longswords. It's a flat blade with a fuller and a rolled tip with a distal taper of about 4 mm down to 3 mm. The weight is very good, not too light not too heavy. Balance is a bit blade heavy but, that works for this sword. Edges are very thick about 3 mm. With a padded jacket, gauntlets, some shoulder gear, and a good fencing helm this thing is safe to spar with. It is an excellent training tool. I have fenced with it a few times, it holds up well so far.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Gold Star Customer Service! June 24, 2020
Reviewer: Cliff from Pennsylvania  
My 12-year-old daughter wanted to get into sword fighting but had a specific requirement. It had to be pink. I couldn't find a pink sword at a good price, so I went with a synthetic. Purpleheart called me and worked with me to get a steel sword, which I wanted, with a pink handle with a pear-shaped pommel so she could use it with two hands. So, gold star on customer service.

Onto the sword, great weight, solid construction, and good flex but not wobbly. I've spent twice as much on arming swords that I like significantly less than this one.

Most of all, my daughter loves it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Nice sword March 23, 2020
Reviewer: Patrick Thomas from Orange Park, FL United States  
I got it for sword and buckler and the week after the shutdown hit. So im working it out at home on my own and it feels awesome. The other people at the club (BCLS) love it as well.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items