Return to School Training Longsword, Hickory Wood
:
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent product! February 5, 2024
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Vietnam  
It's exactly what I expected. It really helps me with edge alignment practice. Note for future Vietnamese buyers: customs can hold your package for a month straight. Be patient!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 First purchase from Purpleheart Armoury July 29, 2023
Reviewer: Conner J. L. from Arlington, TX United States  
Great for solo training and light contact to practice techniques. Feels great in the hands and is easy to stow away.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Incredible value January 31, 2023
Reviewer: David Neville from Pelham, AL United States  
I thought I was getting a simpler, less fancy version of Purpleheart's famous hickory wasters, but I was totally wrong! This sword is lighter and quicker, possibly due to the fact it has a distal taper. Yes, a wooden sword with a distal taper! It feels more lively in the hand than some steel I've used. As they recommend, I don't plan on using this for sparring, but I don't spar with wooden swords so no problem there. The fit & finish are superb & because the crossguard is detachable it kept shipping down. The rubber band supplied to keep the cross in its place on the sword is tough & snugly fits in place. I can't praise this wooden sword enough - it is absolutely perfect for students learning drills, guards and flourishes. Well done to the makers at Purpleheart!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent wooden trainer November 25, 2022
Reviewer: Alina Boyden from Raleigh, North Carolina  
The new school training longsword represents a great improvement in wooden training weapons over previous generations of wasters.  It is lighter, more agile, better-balanced, and still robust enough for serious drilling.  

The thicker edges and softer material (vs a steel feder) that the school training longsword offers provides a measure of safety for working at speed without the need to wear heavy protective tournament gear.  Wooden swords are also safer and more comfortable for drilling slices with intensity, as they put less pressure on the opponent and therefore are less likely to bruise or injure.

For anyone looking to outfit a school with cheap and effective trainers,  beginners looking for an introductory training tool, and advanced practitioners who want the fun of low gear sparring and drilling with a reduced risk of injury, the school training longsword represents a fantastic choice.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Review June 21, 2022
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
The sword is high quality, excellent for practicing techniques. It shipped quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Wonderful Waster February 28, 2022
Reviewer: Allen Zheng from Brooklyn, NY United States  
Beautiful training sword. Arrived very quickly, and offered great support. Well crafted/detailed, handles well.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great service January 3, 2022
Reviewer: L. DeFriez from UT United States  
Got exactly what I ordered.  They bent over backwards to get it to me to give for Christmas. Thank you!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent Training Sword May 17, 2021
Reviewer: from New jersey  
Received the sword about 2-3 days after ordering. It's extremely sturdy and very well balanced, a great sword to begin learning with, especially being much cheaper than most steel and synthetic counterparts

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 January 18, 2021
Reviewer: Bram Skinner from San Diego, CA United States  
Took a little work to secure the guard but is sturdy nicely balanced and exactly what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great products October 29, 2020
Reviewer: George Seng from Midland , TX United States  
Great products.  Fast shipping good communication!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items