Return to Hungarian Sabre, 17th Century
:
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 A great find. August 19, 2022
Reviewer: Aaron K. from Middle Tennessee  
This handles well and has a glorious curve to the blade. The edge is thick and well suited for sparring and the distal taper is observable. The flex of the blade is stiff, but less so than my CAS/Hanwei practical arming and norman swords. The thrusting tip is a bit thin for my tastes; it is not spatulated but simply flattened, but the point is not as wide as I'd prefer for thrusting. I love the shape and wrap of the grip and the finger bow seems sturdy and looks nice, if simple.
I have not had the chance to spar with it, but I have taken it vigorously against my pell and it has held up wonderfully, no loosening of the handle and no rattle.

Over all, a great HEMA saber, especially for the price when sabers seem to be short supply.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent Sabre March 19, 2022
Reviewer: Kobe from Pleasanton, TX United States  
This Sabre is one of the best I've owned yet. The grip is comfortable to hold and the blade is very stiff - which I prefer over very floppy sabres. My only gripe is that the blade has a few minor scratches, but it doesn't bother me since this is a combat sword and not a wallhanger. All in all a great sword for the price.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Awesome purchase January 12, 2022
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Ames, IA United States  
The sword was shipped quickly and in good condition. Feels absolutely wonderful in hand. If I need another sabre I'll probably get another one of these

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 November 24, 2021
Reviewer: cesar antonio contreras lado from Mexico City, Mexico City Mexico  


Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Great budget trainer October 1, 2021
Reviewer: Ken M from Erie, PA United States  
Let me start by saying fantastic service by Purple Heart as always. Quickly answered questions on the chat feature, shipped hours after placing order, and had in hand two days after that. This is a very good budget sabre and I don't believe you are going to find a better at this price point. It has its issues, flex seems a little stiff(I've taken thrusts from others at our club and in my opinion its acceptable, but control always), point makes me a little nervous, random scratches/blemishes in the finish and the cross on mine was not at all square to the blade(these two aren't an issue to me as this is a training tool and I will soon put more scratches dents and bends in it). More importantly it handles well and moves like you expect a sabre to. So far no issues with durability. I have a pair of the Sparing Gloves Infinity Gauntlets and they fit under the knuckle-bow.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Decent sabre August 31, 2021
Reviewer: december from ,  
I wanted to try a sabre without spending too much and this one fits the bill.  I use this in SCA cut and thrust and works well, feels light in the hand and can take a hit.  The hand guard feels a little flimsy but so far so good and the only reason I took a star off.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Fantastic sword July 9, 2021
Reviewer: Edward Beaulieu from Québec, QC Canada  
Fantastic sword, fast shipping. Good services.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 March 5, 2021
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Madison, WI United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Hungarian Sabre February 11, 2021
Reviewer: Pablo Barrera from Tlalnepantla, Estado de México Mexico  
Its a great weapon. it arrived less than 10 days after my purchase and the purple heart team attend every question i have about the process and the details on the weapon. they also recommend other kind of equipment that will match the best with your needs and preferences. it was a great choice for me.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Awesome saber, needs a stronger knuckle bow November 13, 2020
Reviewer: Christopher Chill from Clearwater, FL United States  
I love this saber. But the knuckle bow needs a little help. Took a few blows from my other saber, one hard hit bent the bow inward. I bent it back out later, but how easily it bent worries me.
Blade’s a bit stiff (significantly stiffer than the Ensifer), but not so stiff as to be overly concerned. Only slightly heavier than the Ensifer, but neither saber hits any harder than arming or sideswords. Obviously, you should be wearing gear.
I really love the perfectly sized grip and pronounced blade curve of this saber. It’s comfortable with and without (Heavy) gloves. Viktor must know that bears aren't the only ones with big paws. And the strong curve of the blade was exactly what I wanted for a Hungarian/Polish style saber.
I am not even bothered by the stiffness, and neither were my club mates. The Only thing that could be better, IMHO, is the knuckle bow. If the guard/knuckle bow was beefed up, while still accommodating heavy gloves, this would be a 5-star sword all day.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items