Return to Synthetic Chang Jian V2
:
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Nice weight August 6, 2020
Reviewer: Hans Dupuis from Montreal, QC Canada  
This Jian feel balance for a hema practice it deliver the strong blocks and can feel safe enough to trust with it. It's an excellent product.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Wanted to try something different March 20, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Springdale, AR  
Got this to try something new from European longsword, been thoroughly enjoying using it so far and it's a nice durable blade. The blue colored cord for the pommel was slightly different than anticipated, which is just a cosmetic choice but all in all a good choice.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Perfect January 9, 2020
Reviewer: Rob Hellenius from Gabriola , BC Canada  
These will be training tools that will serve us well for decades. Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 was not expecting it to be as big as it was March 26, 2019
Reviewer: Dale Dotson from Brentwood, TN United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Baquazhang Practitioner November 29, 2018
Reviewer: Robert Pettit from Minnetonka , MN United States  
Sword is long enough to use for baguazhang training but its a little shorter than a traditional baguazhang jian making it also good for traditional Wudang jian training. Great feel and balance. Highly recommend for those practitioners that want to go beyond the pretty forms and actually learn to fight and spar with the jian.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 November 6, 2018
Reviewer: Llerrad Schmidt from Clayton, WA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 First Impression Review March 5, 2017
Reviewer: Patrick Gray from San Francisco, CA United States  
This 2-handed synthetic jian has great balance and weight to it. The shape of the edge allows for safe but effective use. Its fittings make it look, feel, and act more like a jian, especially with the new guard. Overall, the trainer very aesthetically pleasing.

However, I still found some minor issues. The first being the hole at the base of the blade exposing the rivets securing the guard. I'm not sure if it will affect the structural integrity of blade over time, but for now it feels very sound.

The second is handle design. The section near the pommel becomes very narrow, making for a awkward 2-handed grip compared to traditional Chinese jian handles.

Despite my minor complaints, I highly recommend this jian as a safe and economical trainer for those looking to practice techniques, and their applications through weapons sparring.

I've made a more extensive review of this trainer on Sword Buyers Guide's forum.

https://sbg-sword-forum.forums.net/post/688072/thread

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Good practice jian December 18, 2016
Reviewer: ALEXANDER KEMPER from CLARKSVILLE, TN United States  
I like this synthetic because most of the two handed jians out there are way too short. This practice sword is a good length, in blade and hilt, and balance well. I own other jians, but I like practicing with this one the best because of its weight, balance, and length.

Only complaint would be that the blade was kind of warped to one side, not too badly though. I leave it under some heavy weights and that has helped to straighten the blade somewhat.

Would purchase again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Well weighted jian waster July 22, 2016
Reviewer: jason berger from colorado springs, CO United States  
Weight is great-- personally i think the handle needs to be shorter to emulate properly-  The longer handle can get int he way of certain traditional motions.  The balance feels great but makes it feel a  bit like a larger sword due to the handle---

Was this review helpful to you?