Return to Nodachi/Odachi - Synthetic - V2
:
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Too soft for some Japanese sword skills October 6, 2019
Reviewer: Ming Li from Bossier City, LA United States  
The Odachi has right center of gravity, but the process is too rough, and the material is too soft. For a number of katana skills, you need to use the blade to dial your opponent's blade to the side and attack. But when you try to do with this sowrd, the blade will wave and you cannot continue. Although this sword looks good, it can't be used for practice.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Outstanding weapon April 5, 2019
Reviewer: Gavin Lawson from Bridgewater, VA  
Another great weapon from a great company.  Bought two for my club and they are  a blast to spar with.  Durable and well constructed, I plan to get one for myself.  And to echo a previous reviewer, fantastic customer service!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 quality August 20, 2018
Reviewer: nick lam from yucaipa, CA United States  
this nodachi is probably the most durable synthetic sword I've seen. When I first receive a sword my immediate response was to test its limits by attempting to break it or Bend it or cause some type of damage yet it went above and beyond my expectations. Another thing that is just great about Purple Heart Armory is that it's family-owned and they will help you in whatever situation you're in.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Wow! August 7, 2018
Reviewer: Vindanea  
This makes a katana look like a toy. It's practically weightless and surprisingly sturdy. Great for pell practice. Great for fencing. It's just great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Dream Sparring Sword May 3, 2018
Reviewer: Rick from TX United States  
Couldn't find a sparring sword for the Nadochi anywhere, but finally found somewhere. It's a little warped thought its size makes it forgivable. So far in testing it had held up against some of the more heavy Polypropelyne(?) Cold Steel sparring swords. Even got this a week earlier than expected! Besides from the small warping, there's no complaints.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Outstanding March 31, 2018
Reviewer: Jard-kun from Joppatowne, MD United States  
I had long been waiting for a synthetic odachi, but none existed before this. This sword is perfect for anybody who wants to do serious sparring with an odachi. The blade is thick and sturdy, and there is almost no bending. The tsuba is large enough that my hands have not been struck directly(a problem with some cheaper bokken guards). I have used this extensively against other synthetic swords and have seen no issues in construction or general quality.

If I could have one complaint, the handle is kind of rectangular so if you are used to using a real odachi or rounder bokken, you'll need to practice a bit to get the edge aligned. While this annoyed me at first, it's not enough to make this sword lose its rating of 'excellent.'

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Purpleheart never disappoints November 18, 2017
Reviewer: Chad Gossling from Calmar, IA United States  
This Nodachi  was exactly as advertised. The weight was perfect for a training sword of that size, and the tsuba(guard) is surprisingly stable.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Exceeded expectations September 19, 2017
Reviewer: David May from Durham, NC United States  
I just got this in last night. What initially started as a random question turned into a fine training sword that I hope to use for many of the demonstrations my group puts on. I will still need to get used to it, since it is (obviously) more blade heavy than the katana, but I can tell I will get a great deal out of this weapon.

Was this review helpful to you?