Return to Messer, Right Hand
:
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Just what I was looking for April 27, 2020
Reviewer: Jeffrey Sovelove from Morristown, NJ United States  
Excellent messer, solid without being clunky, fast and light.  Very happy with my purchase and the service form Purpleheart.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 February 1, 2020
Reviewer: Andrew Tharp from Indianapolis, IN United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Very good December 10, 2019
Reviewer: Rob from Grantham, NH  
Feels great, nice balance. Surprising amount of flex without feeling floppy at all.  One of the few steel messers I would feel safe sparing at full speed with. I have heard the cross and nagle get pretty beat up due to the metal being soft, but I have not yet experienced this.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Clang! December 6, 2019
Reviewer: Jerry Berg from Comstock Park, MI United States  
I personally love this. IT's lighter than I expected, but it's also my only steel HEMA sword to go "CLANG!" when cutting. Some might say that's a bad thing, but I think it sounds great! Just practiced some Paulus Kal with it yesterday.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 An Excellent Trainer November 25, 2019
Reviewer: Hugh Knight from Riverside, CA United States  
This practice Messer is light, nimble, and very comfortable in use.  Allowing for choices made to keep the price down (which is great in a practice piece), it is extremely well made and serviceable, with very good fit and finish and good, clean lines.  The polish is actually better than necessary.

As always, dealing with the folks at Purpleheart was a pleasure, too.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Good, Solid Messer September 23, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Virginia, United States  
Overall, a very solid messer. Great value for the price point. Having used it some times in sparring, the blade holds up very well. Some minor nicks happened, though it's to be expected and they were easily removed with a little sanding. The handle is large enough to comfortably grip it even while wearing heavy gloves. The balance point is noticeably a bit closer to the handle then other messer's I've handled, though it handles pretty well still. It's more a difference than a plus or minus.

The only thing that stops me from giving it a full 5 stars is the cross-guard and nagel. While they do the job of protecting your hands, the metal is quite softer and develops gouges that require frequent sanding to keep out burrs and sharp points.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 VB Messer September 16, 2019
Reviewer: Bruce Rawitch from Stilwell, KS United States  
Just bought the new VB steel messer trainer.  I have to say I am very impressed with the quality and handling of this weapon, every VB steel trainer that has been puchased by my club had met and exceeded our expectations.  Service from Purpleheart was exceptional as always.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Prompt & complete September 9, 2019
Reviewer: Evan Fusco from nixa, MO United States  
Ordered 2 messers, both shipped very promptly and were in great condition.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Pretty messy. February 21, 2019
Reviewer: Peter Weisinger from Salmon Arm, BC Canada  
So far so good. i was worried that the lack of a metal knopf would leave it unbalanced, but this is not the case at all - the length and heft of the handle gives it good balance, and a small person could even get two hands on this. It leaves lots of room when using with a glove to perform techniques that use the knopf. The blade did bend a bit the first time I thrusted agressively, but I could bend it back pretty easily. I think this is to be expected from this kind of steel though. The edges of the blade come pretty squared off, so after the first few times I used it, it got several nicks. This can easily be solved by rounding it off with a little sandpaper. Overall for the price, this is an awesome Messer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 January 16, 2019
Reviewer: Katy Johnson from Richmond, VA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items