Return to Gladius, Impact Grade Hickory
:
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Great quality but the hand guard scratches my hand August 28, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Meridian, ID United States  
When I'm gripping the sword the hand guard scratches my hand. I'm planning on sanding down the sharp edges. Hopefully that resolves the issue.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Fantastic experience! June 16, 2019
Reviewer: Scott Baker from Rochester, NH United States  
Very good quality. I asked for the sword earlier than normal due to an event coming up and the sword was shipped to me in time! Very happy

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent Waster Sword January 29, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Indianapolis, IN United States  
I’m very happy with this wooden gladius waster. It handles well, is well-made, and is durable.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Gladius Sword October 16, 2018
Reviewer: Ron Jones from Valencia, CA United States  
Nice quality sword. Properly packaged and delivered in reasonable time. Nice balance to it. Sturdy. I took some very fine wool to sword and handle to smooth out finish a bit more to my liking. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Happy with Purchase August 10, 2018
Reviewer: David C from Northridge, CA United States  
I've had the wooden gladius for a few months now and am pleased with the purchase.

The sword is well made and looks good. To be expected, there are a few slight imperfections in the wood (for example, part of the pommel was sanded too deep so that the pommel is not perfectly rounded; the guard also jiggles slightly).

I only use the sword against the air. It took a little while for my forearm muscles to adjust; cutting downwards was painful on the bottom of my hand at first! But now, using the sword is comfortable (in the hammer grip). The sword feels good in hand, but because the grip is only flat wood, the handle can feel a bit slippery with some sweat. I wonder if a design with a grooved grip would have made keeping a hold on the sword easier.

If you’re going to buy this sword, do note that it may take some time to ship (see the help/FAQ) page. My order shipped ten days after I placed the order.

Overall, a good sword. Cool, fun, and a decent workout.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent quality February 7, 2018
Reviewer: Derrick Sobodash from Rochester Hills, MI United States  
Great trainer. It's just a little heavier than you would want in an actual sword, which makes it great for building wrist strength and control. Just be careful when doing work with a partner because it hits like a tank.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Very well made! September 28, 2016
Reviewer: John Rojcewicz from Monterey, CA United States  
These are very sturdy and beautifully made wooden swords, useful for solo and partner training.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 High Quality Waster May 16, 2016
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from CA, United States  
The highest quality gladius waster I have found on the market. The Hickory wood is very tough and shows hardly any damage after heavy use against a wooden pell. Solid weight. Strengthens forearm during training and is close to the actual weight of most steel Gladii. One of the best wasters I have EVER used. Highly recommended for anyone desiring a short sword waster that can stand up to serious punishment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent Training Sword April 13, 2016
Reviewer: T. Patrick Flynn from Oro Valley, AZ United States  
I acquired these to use as a quality ready made general and modern "tactical" short sword sized waster and am very happy with my purchase and customer service. This gladius style waster is an excellent choice for historical and modern design straight-bladed double- edged short sword training. The construction is robust and the design, shape, and weight combine to give the proper feel of a sword with general safety concerns well addressed. The size of the guard is more like what is typically found with many modern "tactical" design short swords and the Roman style pommel aids in retention, at times a special consideration. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?