Return to Steel Techniques Feder with Pear Pommel
:
Page of 6
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 December 12, 2019
Reviewer: Deric Wagner from Franklin, IN United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 They fixed the description at least October 29, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
At the time I bought this it was listed as SCA legal, it was not. They have updated the description and offered a refund, but customer servece is pretty weak. Each email was a month apart. They would not confirm they had it till after the shipping insurance was expired and still have not mailed my check. Had to get my bank involved.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Nice but misses the details October 18, 2019
Reviewer: David  
I looked forward to receiving my feder for several weeks before it came and when it arrived I quickly opened it.  When I did I found it was just the right size for me and I really enjoyed the length of the grip.  It feels good in my hand and I like the balance. I was disappointed to see that the leather wrapping on the grip was torn.  That was easy enough to fix with a little glue.  I was less pleased with the finish on the cross-guard.  It had a burr on the top of it that scratched my hand.  I was able to fix it with a grinding wheel in my Dremel.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Quick service - fantastic products October 11, 2019
Reviewer: Joshua Krause from Chicago, IL United States  
I couldn't be happier with my new trainer.  Quality craftsmanship and a well-balanced piece I will use for years to come.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Exactly what I hoped for September 17, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Ever since I started training with a HEMA group, I’ve wanted that real steel in my hands. This thing is gorgeous; shipped in excellent condition.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great practice sword September 15, 2019
Reviewer: Samuel White from Burlington, NC United States  
So far so good. It feels great in the hand. Don't forget to oil and wipe it down after each use or it will develop rust spots. Not a big deal if it happens, just rub them with metal polish and steel wool.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Nice! August 26, 2019
Reviewer: Scott Risso from Glendale, AZ United States  
I've only sparred a little with it, but it's already holding up better than my VB feder.  Love the way it handles too!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Great for the price August 12, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from CA  
Looks fantastic and feels well made. It's held up so far with sword on sword partner drills. The leather wrap is elegantly done.

Some gripes:

1) the center of balance is ~3" (~760mm) distal to the guard, not the 1.5" as described

2)  handle is a little short for me, another 0.75" would have been great (which would potentially balance it to the 1.5" spec)

All in all, a great beginner/ beater blunt.

I would love to see another VB offering in this configuration:

ring hilt
~38" blade with flared tip
1.5-2" center of balance
12" (including pommel) handle

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Purchased for drilling tools, wonderfully suited August 10, 2019
Reviewer: Bryant from Austin, TX United States  
Bought these for my school as drilling swords. We use them in low- and moderate-impact drilling and relatively slow, controlled sparring where technique is the focus. They will hold up to sparring, but shouldn't be bought for this purpose, as they aren't really designed for it.

Flex is good, handling is decent. Bind work is kind of fun with these, as they are solid enough in the bind to work from, but if your edge alignment is even slightly off, you (and your opponent) will instantly know. There's no "pushing with the flat" with these - they just flex when you resist with the flat.

Overall, feels like a good quality, sturdy training tool. Is NOT a competition blade, but isn't designed to be.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Lovely feder August 8, 2019
Reviewer: Nate from Cranston, RI United States  
Great training feder, I wouldn't recommend using it in hard sparring (it's a stiff blade, breakage might happen) but for technique training and light to moderate sparring, its been wonderful, and you really can't beat it for the price!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items