Return to Knightshop Synthetic Longsword
:
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Comparing the synthetics November 7, 2016
Reviewer: George Hernandez from Chicago, IL United States  
I've been doing HEMA since 2002, but my wife and kids are just getting into longsword, so I had each of them pick their own syntetic longsword. By luck they happened to pick all 4 variants! I'll do 1 review for the Rawlings and another review for the 3 Pentti.

My youngest had to choose the softer Rawlings to match the other kids in her class. I thought my little girl would like the lower weight of the synthetic pommel. However I noticed that the balance was pretty far forward so I ordered a steel pommel and she's happier for it. The friction on the handle is a bit grippy, but otherwise it is a fine sword for a beginner.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
very satisfied June 14, 2016
Reviewer: Steve  
Well made and fun to use

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Knightshop Rawlings Synthetic Longsword May 3, 2016
Reviewer: Francisco Pena from Miami, FL United States  
I have been using practice and real swords for many years now, and I have to say that I'm impressed with this product.  I first learned about it through one of Skallagrim's videos.  I have used and owned multiple wooden and synthetic practice swords, and I find this one to handle the best, and best approximate my real longsword, both in dimensions, handling, and balance.  I bought this practice sword with the optional Stainless Steel PHA pommel, which adds a good degree of additional heft to the sword.  I intend to add the   KS Longsword Stainless Steel Guard in the not too distant future, since that should shift the weight to a balance point that will be a closer approximation of my real longsword.  But as it is, I like the feel of it, it handles VERY similarly to the real thing, and the flexibility of the tip is about right, not being so flexible that it allows flexing through a guard, but not too rigid either.  Overall, well worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Finally! April 11, 2016
Reviewer: Cody McMillen from Cedar Hill, TX United States  
So glad to have my hands on one of these! Came quick and exactly like I wanted, cannot wait to get more parts for a second one.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Useful training tool April 9, 2016
Reviewer: Hunter B Armstrong from Sedona, AZ United States  
For our purposes--workout/training using minimal protective gear--these work nicely. Weight and balance is sufficient and the material stands up very nicely to fairly heavy abuse.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Knightshop Rawlings Longsword March 7, 2016
Reviewer: Charles Lawton from Omaha, NE United States  
Seems to be of good quality.  No complaints.  If I come up aginst any synthetic saracens, I will let them have it.  Shipping was quite fast.  Excellent transaction.  Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
A solid affordable option February 26, 2016
Reviewer: Daniel Johnson from Alexandria, VA United States  
Great product. Only reason I gave it a four is for some it's known issues as a sparing blade.
1. It's thicker than a steel blade
2. It's lighter
3. It's difficult to realistically simulate bind and other technics due to the slippery plastic edge.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Rawlings Synthetic January 28, 2016
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from West Jordan, UT United States  
This sword has a few problems.  The biggest are:
1.)The Nylon blade is too whip-like and deforms on the slightest contact to the foible.
2.)The nylon blade can experience small fractures along the shoulder of the tang on the blade (watch for breaks.)

That being said. Despite all of its downfalls this sword is a good trainer. The fact that the foible is so bendy forces the student to block down near the ricasso of the blade, and the easy to acquire replacement parts make the sword itself a cheaper alternative to other synthetics. I've had mine for a little over two years now and although I haven't needed to replace anything on it the shoulders do show cracks. All in all I would suggest it to the students who want to further their long sword practitioning without spending as much on multiple wooden wasters or more expensive synthetics.

But on the flip side if you want something to compete with I would recommend, for more experienced swordsmen, the type III.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great first trainer January 28, 2016
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Minneapolis, MN United States  
I have owned one of these now for around 9 months.  This sword is the standard in the club I am in and is a great first training sword.  It does have a little more flex and wobble then I would like but this does make for a safe sparing weapon.  This sword has held up very well, I use it for drills, sparing in class, as well as pell work and it is still in great shape after all that abuse.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
good but has a few flaws. November 11, 2015
Reviewer: Sir Owen from Gainesville, FL United States  
Watch my review here : https://youtu.be/F7qnWz3av7w

Pros:
Metallic looking blade
Flexible blade
Very Durable
Sturdy
Good weight
Good Grip/Hilt
Customizable

Cons:
Discoloration on blade
Protruding seams
Packaging could use work
Needs lots of effort to slide Hilt on

***UPDATE 11/11/2015***

- blade is too flimsy

The flexibility on this sword is so good that when you cut with it, it flops up and down and feels a bit odd when you bind as you do no know what the intentions of your opponent are.

I suggest you guys buy the type III Penti model as it is much stiffer yet still flexible.

Was this review helpful to you?